Egyptian Edamame Stew

This recipe popped up in my inbox at work as part of a newsletter from our corporate wellness department. “Edamame” caught my eye – I knew it was something to eat, but wasn’t really sure what. The recipe itself sounded exotic, so I decided to save it.

About a week later, I happened to buy lunch in our cafeteria at work, and Egyptian Edamame Stew was one of the entrees offered. (I still didn’t know what edamame was.)

The stew was VERY garlicky and very good. I knew right then I’d need to try it at home.

In case you have wondered (I know I did), “edamame” is pronounced “ed-ah-MAHM-may” – they are immature soy beans. I found them in the natural foods freezer section of Giant Eagle. Although the recipe calls for 1 1/2 10-oz. packages (and 10-oz. packages are available), Giant Eagle also stocks a 16-oz. package and I went with this (cleaner – no leftovers to store in the freezer). Be sure to select shelled – not pods.

Sometimes texture adds as much to a dish as flavor does.  The bean’s exterior, which is firm-to-the-tooth, gives way satisfyingly with each bite. The slight crunch contrasts nicely with the zucchini and tomatoes.

I served the stew over rice, but it would also be tasty over couscous (you can find quick-cooking couscous in the ethnic section of grocery stores).

Egyptian Edamame Stew
(Four servings, about two cups each)
1 1/2 10-oz. packages frozen shelled edamame
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 large zucchini, diced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 28-oz. can diced tomatoes (I used petite diced)
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
3 tablespoons lemon juice

Bring large saucepan (I used a Dutch oven) of water to boil. Add edamame and cook until tender, 4 to 5 minutes or according to package directions. Drain.

Heat oil in same large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and cook, covered, stirring occasionally, until starting to soften, about 3 minutes. Add zucchini and cook, covered, until the onions start to brown, about 3 minutes more. Add garlic, cumin, coriander and cayenne and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in tomatoes and bring to a boil; reduce heat to a simmer and cook until slightly reduced, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the edamame and cook until heated through, about 2 minutes more. Remove from heat and stir in cilantro and lemon juice.

Spicy Crackers are a good accompaniment.

Comments
2 Responses to “Egyptian Edamame Stew”
  1. Androgoth says:

    This looks positively yummy and I really enjoy a nice stew, I just know that I am going to enjoy visiting your Space with all this deliciously nice looking food on offer, well not on offer but certainly here to be enjoyed 🙂

    Androgoth

Leave a Reply

