Mouthwatering . . . Succulent . . . Cranberry Pork Roast!

I first made Cranberry Pork Roast right after Christmas, and I’ve made it two more times since. I found the recipe in my Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbook (slow cooker recipes).

I’m quite enamored of this roast, which is why I’ve made it three times in about six weeks. Great flavor doesn’t get much easier.

A subtle hint of bacon is immediately noticeable – I love bacon – and the whole house smells wonderful when this is cooking!

The rich, cranberry-flavored gravy is the perfect contrast.

I’ve served this roast with mashed potatoes and black-eyed peas each time I’ve made it, but it would be complemented by a wide variety of sides.

Cranberry Pork Roast
(6-8 servings)
3-lb. pork roast (I’ve tried boneless and bone-in)
16-oz. can jellied cranberry sauce
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup cranberry juice
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons cold water
1 teaspoon salt

Place roast in slow cooker. Combine cranberry sauce, sugar, cranberry juice, mustard and cloves. Pour over roast. Cover. Cook on low 6-8 hours, or until meat is tender (cooking longer than 8 hours won’t hurt anything). Remove roast and keep warm. Skim fat from juices. Measure 2 cups, adding water if necessary. Pour into saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Combine the cornstarch and cold water to make a paste. Stir into gravy. Cook and stir until thickened. Season with salt. Serve with pork.

Leave a Reply

