Just in Time for Valentine’s Day . . . Cut-out Cookies

This recipe isn’t new, but I think it’s worth sharing. I got it from my mom (she made these cut-outs when I was growing up) and the recipe is noted “Kraft recipe,” so I’m guessing it’s something Kraft Foods originally shared.

These cut-outs are of the soft variety – they have an almost cake-like texture. The recipe suggests rolling the dough to 1/8 inch thickness, but I usually roll them a little thicker. They can’t be beat with a glass of ice-cold milk (and they’re pretty enjoyable with coffee, as well).

While I sometimes ice cut-outs, lately I’ve been sprinkling them with colored sugar before they bake (I’ll usually dip a finger in water and lightly brush across the surface before immediately sprinkling with sugar).

This batch is going to school tomorrow with my daughter for her Valentine’s Day party.

Cut-out Cookies:
(Makes between 2 and 3 dozen, depending on size of cut-outs)
3/4 cup butter (room temperature)
1 cup sugar
2 eggs (room temperature)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Blend in eggs and vanilla. Add combined dry ingredients, mixing well.

Chill 4 hours or overnight.Roll dough out on surface to 1/8 inch thickness. Cut with floured cookie cutters. Put on ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees 5-7 minutes. Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet.

I used homemade vanilla in these; if you’ve never tried making your own vanilla, it’s super simple. The scent is out of this world, and it makes a unique gift.

Homemade Vanilla
375ml bottle 80-proof vodka (I use Smirnoff)
2 vanilla beans

Split vanilla beans in half lengthwise and put in bottle of vodka. Let cure for about 4 weeks (you can shake the bottle occasionally to mix the flavor).

I got this jar from my sister for Christmas:

Comments
4 Responses to “Just in Time for Valentine’s Day . . . Cut-out Cookies”
  1. Jenny Griffin says:

    These are great cookies!

  2. Rhonda says:

    Karen, it’s so great that you’re doing this! I love reading about “winner” recipes! Keep them coming!

  3. sheryl says:

    i am so excited to try making the homemade vanilla! never would i have thought to make it myself

  4. @Jenny, @Rhonda – thanks for the kind words! @Sheryl – you probably won’t go back to store-bought after you’ve tried the homemade!

Leave a Reply

