Melt-In-Your-Mouth Peanut Butter Cookies

Where I found the original recipe(s):
This is certainly not a new recipe to me, but it IS a favorite. I’m not sure where the recipe originally came from, but these are the peanut butter cookies my mom made when I was growing up.

What I thought:
What I like about these cookies is the texture – they are sandy, rather than soft – they do almost melt in your mouth. To be honest, once I start eating these I have a hard time stopping.

What I’d change:
Nothing!

Peanut Butter Cookies
(Makes about 7 dozen cookies)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup shortening
1 egg
1 cup peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Beat shortening until creamy. Add sugar gradually and beat until creamy. Add the egg and peanut butter, beat until creamy. Add salt and baking soda, beat. Add flour and vanilla, beat. Roll the dough into small balls; place them on a greased pan. Press flat with a fork dipped in flour. Bake in oven at 375 degrees for 8-9 minutes; let cool on pan 1-2 minutes.

Comments
One Response to “Melt-In-Your-Mouth Peanut Butter Cookies”
  1. Kim says:

    Peanut Butter Cookies – WOW! Sounds great!

Leave a Reply

