Lent begins March 9 – Try Fish Tacos this Year

 

UXR7HKFECX35

Where I found the original recipe(s):
Fish tacos – February 17, 2010 issue of the Akron Beacon Journal
I often clip recipes from newspapers and magazines and may not get around to trying them right away. That’s what happened with this recipe that appeared in the Beacon Journal about a year ago.

Homemade tartar sauceNo Reservations Required by Bev and John Shaffer

What I thought:
I’ve eaten fish tacos at restaurants, but had never tried making them. There’s really not much to putting them together, and they offer an elegant alternative to your standard beef taco. These were good, but maybe not as flavorful as I’d hoped (I like LOTS of flavor!).

What I’d change:
To add some pizazz, I’d try swapping tartar sauce for the mayonnaise and lime juice. The tartar sauce recipe below has a nice, citrusy flavor that would really add to this dish.  You might consider reducing the amount of salsa or even eliminating it if you use the lemony tartar sauce instead.  Experiment!

I’d also consider adding corn kernels (thawed frozen) – maybe 1/2 cup.

The only change I would make to the tartar sauce is the amount of lemon zest.  I would prefer the lemon flavor be more of a subtle hint, rather than the dominant flavor.

Fish Tacos
Adapted from the Akron Beacon Journal, February 17, 2010

12 oz. fresh or frozen skinless fish fillets (I used orange roughy)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
3 tablespoons mayonnaise or salad dressing (I had to add more – I’d suggest using your judgment until you get a consistency and flavor you like)
1 teaspoon lime juice (again, I added more to remain consistent with the amount of mayonnaise)
1 1/2 package shredded cabbage with carrot (coleslaw mix) or shredded cabbage (the standard packages at my grocery store are 16 oz., and I think one package is plenty)
8 taco shells, warmed according to package directions
Purchased mango or pineapple salsa (I tried Vizcaya Mango Pineapple Island Salsa, Medium – found it in the international aisle at my local grocery store)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees and grease shallow baking pan. Rinse thawed fish and absorb excess water with paper towels. Cut fish crosswise into 3/4 inch slices.

Place fish in a single layer in the prepared pan. Combine oil, cumin and garlic powder; brush over fish. Bake for 4 to 6 minutes, or until fish flakes easily.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, stir together mayonnaise and lime juice. Add cabbage; toss gently to coat.  Spoon cabbage mixture into taco shells; top with fish and salsa.

If you’d like to try the tartar sauce alternative with the cabbage:

Homemade Tartar Sauce
Adapted from No Reservations Required by Bev and John Shaffer

3/4 cup mayonnaise
1 1/2 tablespoons sweet pickle relish
1 tablespoon chopped fresh tarragon
1 teaspoon lemon juice
Zest of 1 lemon, minced (I would suggest halving this amount)
1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce

Mix all ingredients. Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour. (Flavors are stronger if allowed to sit overnight; you can prepare this up to 2 days in advance.)

Makes 1 cup.

Leave a Reply

