Perfect for Spring – Roast Parmesan Asparagus

Where I found the original recipe(s):
This recipe was shared in a cooking class I attended a number of years ago at my local grocery store (at the time, the store regularly brought in guest chefs for demonstration and hands-on cooking classes).

What I thought:
Prior to this dish, my only experience with asparagus was a recipe my mom used to make that involved canned asparagus, cheese and crushed potato chips.  All I can remember about it was that it was mushy and tasted overwhelmingly like Velveeta. (Sorry, Mom.)  In all fairness, my mom is a good cook, so I’m not sure how that particular recipe got into her cooking repertoire.

This recipe made me realize how tasty fresh asparagus can be!  The crunchy texture and lemony flavor are perfect for springtime.

What I’d change:
This dish is so simple there’s not much to change.  I’ve used both shredded and grated Parmesan cheese, and enjoyed both. I’ve also (in a pinch) substituted lemon juice from concentrate if I didn’t have a fresh lemon.

Roast Parmesan Asparagus:
1 lb. fresh asparagus, washed and trimmed
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
Freshly-ground pepper
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Arrange the asparagus in rows in a greased 9″ x 13″ baking dish. Mix water and lemon juice and pour evenly over top of asparagus. Season to taste with pepper. Sprinkle evenly with Parmesan cheese.

Cover loosely with foil and bake for 20 minutes (or until asparagus is tender) in 375 degree oven.

Comments
4 Responses to “Perfect for Spring – Roast Parmesan Asparagus”
  1. We do something almost identical. Love fresh asparagus. Also, I like how you break down your blog posts, there’s always something I’d change. Very digestable, no pun intended.

  2. Thanks! I like to keep it short and simple to make it easier on the reader. I made a quick visit to your blog and it appears you share the same philosophy! Will definitely be back over to check out more – looks like you have some interesting things going on!

  3. Kay says:

    This is a great way to fix asparagus, but I do still on occasion make the mushy, cheesy dish.

    Mom

  4. Do you really? I’m appalled. Ha ha ha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

