Onion Baked Fish Fillets and Brussels Sprouts with Garlic Sauce

Where I found the recipe(s):
I found the fish recipe while perusing a cookbook I picked up some time ago during a visit to Texas (where I’m originally from). The Texas Experience: Friendship & Food Texas Style is a compilation cookbook from The Richardson Woman’s Club.

I stumbled upon the brussels sprouts recipe online a few months ago (www.simplyrecipes.com). I wasn’t even looking for brussels sprouts recipes; I just happened to see it and thought it sounded good. (Plus, I’d never tried cooking brussels sprouts. In fact, I had never even eaten one.)

What I thought:
This is the fourth time I’ve made the brussels sprouts, so as you may guess, I think this dish is a winner. I realize brussels sprouts turn some people off – having never tried them prepared a different way, maybe that’s justified. But I was quite taken with these right from the start.

Most of my family really likes them, even the six-year-old. (The 15-year-old is only lukewarm – the flavor reminds her of dirt.  I’m not sure how she knows what dirt tastes like, and I didn’t ask.) I have to admit, the flavor is a little funky – strong, earthy, but you’re in for a tasty treat with the contrasting sweet garlic sauce.   The crisp-tender texture is pretty appealing, too.

This was a maiden voyage for the fish and it turned out to be a hit, as well.  After complaining loudly at the prospect of fish for dinner, the six-year-old afterward sweetly declared it to be her new favorite meal.  Sure, Eddie Haskell.

What I’d change:
I’ve tried two different sauces for the brussels sprouts. The original recipe included black bean garlic sauce. When I couldn’t find it, I substituted Soy Vay Hoisin Garlic Asian Glaze & Marinade.  After finally using black bean garlic sauce, I decided I prefer the Hoisin Garlic sauce.  (Actually, the whole family prefers the Hoisin Garlic.)

I also increased the amount of sauce to somewhere between 2 and 3 tablespoons.  (The recipe originally called for 1 1/2 tablespoons.)  Use your judgment.  You want the sprouts adequately coated, but you don’t want sauce puddling in the bottom of the skillet.

The fish fillet pieces are dipped in a combination of sour cream, mayonnaise and ranch dressing mix. I was pleased with the flavor, but think subtle might be better. Since the dried onions offer quite a bit of flavor, I’ll probably try dipping the fish in only mayonnaise next time.

Onion Baked Fish Fillets:
From The Texas Experience: Friendship & Food Texas Style
(Makes 6 servings)

2 lbs. flounder or sole
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup sour cream
1 cup mayonnaise
1 (1-oz.) package Original Ranch Salad Dressing Mix
1 (3-oz.) can french fried onions, crushed

Cut fillets in serving-sized pieces and sprinkle with salt. Combine sour cream, mayonnaise and salad dressing mix. Dip fish into 1 cup of mixture, then place in well-greased baking dish. Sprinkle crushed onions on top of fillets. Bake for 20 minutes in 350 degree oven or until done. Serve with remaining sauce.

Brussels Sprouts with Garlic Sauce:
Adapted from http://www.simplyrecipes.com
(Makes 4 servings)

2 tablespoons olive oil
Dash of chili pepper flakes
25 fresh brussels sprouts
2+ tablespoons garlic sauce
Ground black pepper

Wash brussels sprouts. Remove loose leaves (I usually take off a couple of leaves from each sprout) and trim stems. Quarter sprouts lengthwise.

Heat oil and chili flakes in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add sprouts and cook for 3-5 minutes, or until they begin to brown. If too much oil is absorbed, you can add a little more.

Add garlic sauce and stir until sprouts are well-coated. Add a pinch of black pepper and cook for about 30 more seconds. Serve immediately.

Washed . . .

Ready to chop . . .

Chopped . . .

Ready to cook!

Comments
One Response to “Onion Baked Fish Fillets and Brussels Sprouts with Garlic Sauce”
  1. Keep the Brussels sprouts recipes coming. I can’t get enough. And that fish looks so flaky.

Leave a Reply

