Slow and Easy BBQ Ribs

Where I found the recipe(s): Another find from the February/March 2011 issue of Taste of Home magazine.What I thought: Delicious. Pork is my favorite meat, hands down. I'm always looking for new ways to prepare it. And I don't think I've run into a slow cooker pork recipe that has disappointed, this one included.Pineapple juice provides a tangy, tropical flavor that permeates the meat rather than the sauce. So you get a nice depth of flavor when the meat is coated with the jam-sweetened barbecue sauce.What I'd change: I couldn't find plum jam at my local grocery store. The closest substitute was fig spread. Fig is probably more subtle than plum, but it did a good job of taking the edge off the barbecue sauce. Sweetened it without being overwhelming.REALLY close-up shot of fig spread

Slow and Easy BBQ Ribs:
Adapted from Taste of Home magazine
(Makes 4 servings)

2 lbs. boneless country-style pork ribs
1 can (6-oz.) unsweetened pineapple juice
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
2/3 cup barbecue sauce
1/3 cup plum jam (or experiment with other varieties of jam/spread)

Brown ribs over medium-high heat on all sides in large skillet coated with cooking spray. Transfer to slow cooker. Pour pineapple juice over ribs; top with garlic and onion. Cover and cook on low for 6 hours, or until meat is tender.

Combine barbecue sauce and jam. Remove ribs from slow cooker and drain/discard juices and onion. Return ribs to slow cooker and pour sauce over top. Cover and cook on high for 30 minutes.

Comments
2 Responses to “Slow and Easy BBQ Ribs”
  1. I think I’ll try this with tenderloin. I have tons of fig jam on hand. I love smoking ribs, and haven’t done it in ages! Guess, I’ll be doing both.

  2. karencooking says:

    My parents have some fig trees and my mom will occasionally make fig preserves for me . . . always good. By the way, tried the fish in lemon caper sauce tonight, but had to go with flounder fillets since there was no catfish to be found. (I was also missing the tenders for the sauce since I didn’t fillet them myself.) But, turned out really well and was a hit with the family.

Leave a Reply

