BBQ!

Barbecued ribs!

Ah, Memorial Day weekend!  We were finally able to pull out the grill and deck furniture after a rain-soaked spring that kept us mostly indoors until now.

So with the unveiling of the sun and grill came barbecue ribs!  I slathered some of this great barbecue sauce from Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide over boneless pork ribs.  They were fork-tender after baking them in a 275 degree oven for 3 hours prior to grilling.

  • Use choice of dry rub on meat (I used Grill Mates Sweet & Spicy Rub)
  • Wrap ribs in tent of heavy foil (I put 4 ribs per packet, and placed a large baking pan on the rack below the ribs to catch any drips)
  • Carefully unwrap when done – you may want to unwrap them over the baking pan – there will be a fair amount of meat drippings in the packets
  • Grill 10-15 minutes over low heat, turning frequently and basting with sauce the last 5 minutes

The sauce was delicious – I dialed back the heat a little by not including the habanera pepper, but that’s certainly a matter of taste (I often tone things down a little since my family members don’t all have the same level of heat/pain tolerance).

I’m also including a favorite barbecue sauce recipe below that I’ve used over the years.  (I think it originally came from Taste of Home magazine.)

Our other great discovery this weekend was Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy beer.  This lemonade-infused brew is light, smooth and refreshing – perfect for hot summer nights – perfect with barbecued ribs!

Refreshing!

Sweet-n-Spicy BBQ Sauce
Adapted from Taste of Home magazine
(Makes 2 quarts)

2 cups packed brown sugar
2 cups ketchup
1 cup water
1 cup cider vinegar
1 cup finely chopped onion
1 8-oz. can tomato sauce
1 cup corn syrup
1 cup molasses
1 6-oz. can tomato paste
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon garlic-pepper blend or seasoned pepper blend
1 tablespoon Liquid Smoke
1 tablespoon prepared mustard
1 teaspoon onion salt
1 teaspoon celery salt

Combine all ingredients in large saucepan. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and cool.

Comments
2 Responses to “BBQ!”
  1. Ive been looking for a good bbq sauce as the stuff you get from the store isnt really to my liking.Ive got some chicken breasts in the freezer that I think I will try with this.Thanks for posting!!

  2. Oh great, I’m glad it worked for you. I expect people to need to make adjustments to it. BBQ is a highly personal thing. Those ribs look wonderful. I just got some and can’t wait to fire up the smoker.

Leave a Reply

