Food for Thought

English: Detail from photographic portrait of ...

I find myself very distracted from my blog writing lately.  I haven’t quit cooking; I’m still trying three or four new recipes each week.  Instead, I find my mind (and time) seduced by a whole slew of other diversions.

The tempters:

Food writing.  My husband understands that I crave mental sustenance just as much as physical sustenance.  He gave me four books for Christmas, all related in some way to food.

I’ve been feasting on Best Food Writing 2011, Best Food Writing 2010 and Secret Ingredients: The New Yorker Book of Food and Drink — a smorgasbord of literary fare.  From a more practical standpoint, Will Write for Food:  The Complete Guide to Writing Cookbooks, Blogs, Reviews, Memoir, and More by Diane Jacobs offers an abundance of tasty tidbits about the process of food writing.

Charles Dickens.  I began reading Great Expectations in honor of Dickens’ February 7 birthday.  I’m completely engrossed in Pip’s transformation (and never cease to be amazed at Dickens’ otherworldly writing skill).

Pinterest.  Joining the online bulletin board site has opened up a whole new world of food ideas.  I love imagery; perusing Pinterest has become even more fun than perusing cookbooks!

Kitchen remodeling.  My husband and I are in the midst of planning a kitchen remodel.  With hours spent researching materials and appliances and meeting with our contractor to create a design (not to mention pinning those design ideas to my “kitchen remodel” Pinterest board), I’m running out of spare moments.

I’m sure I will get back to my blog soon.  In fact, I think the mental stimulation from all these enticements is bound to result in a new post or two!

Comments
One Response to “Food for Thought”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Food for Thought (karencooking.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

