Pickled Easter Eggs

Not my photo, but the eggs will look like this if you use the recipe below

This post is for everyone who’d like to incorporate a new seasonal food into their Easter celebration. I’m recommending pickled eggs to go along with your classic hard-boiled dyed eggs. (Or better yet — dye your Easter eggs, admire them and then peel and throw them into pickling brine!)

I didn’t know anything about pickled eggs until my husband and I got married a couple of years ago. I had occasionally seen them on salad bars but they remained a mystery. I didn’t even realize they got their beautiful burgundy color from beets. If someone had explained a pickled egg to me I’m not sure I would have found the description appetizing.

However, as we merged our holiday rituals, my husband shared his family’s tradition of making pickled eggs. He conducted some pickled egg research and found a recipe that was simple yet close to what he remembered from his youth.

I was hooked at first bite. I love hard-boiled eggs under any circumstances, but there’s something especially addicting about the flavor imparted after pickling them in a brine of sugar, vinegar, beets, onion and spice. (I don’t know that I could explain the flavor if I tried. You’ll just have to sample them for yourself.)

We’ve been making the pickled eggs for holidays ever since. (We make them for Thanksgiving and Christmas, too, but of course they are particularly apropos for Easter.)

Pennsylvania Dutch Pickled Eggs
Adapted from http://www.cdkitchen.com
(Makes 18 pickled eggs)

18 eggs, hard boiled and peeled
1 1/2 quarts sliced beets
2 1/4 cups cider vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 large onion, thinly sliced
2 1/4 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cloves

Place eggs in glass jar or bowl. (I’ve been using a Rubbermaid 13-cup covered TakeaAlongs container that is the perfect size and the eggs have suffered no ill effects, even though the container is not glass.)

Combine rest of ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Simmer until sugar dissolves. Pour hot mixture over eggs. When cool, store in refrigerator. Eggs will be pickled in 24 hours.

Comments
10 Responses to “Pickled Easter Eggs”
  1. Malou says:

    Wow, this is a must-try, Karen! I’m curious about its taste. I love the salted eggs which is hard boiled duck eggs that is soaked (with shells on) in a mud salt for 2 weeks at least. I love eating it with chopped tomatoes, onions and pepper. Thus, this pickled eggs appeal so much to my liking. ;-)

    • karencooking says:

      Malou, I recently read an article in Lucky Peach about cured duck eggs – fascinating process! There were even several recipes/instructions. I think you would like the pickled eggs!

  2. Great idea, I always have loads of eggs to use up and this would be a good way to preserve eggs when we have a glut! Thanks for sharing. Her x

  3. Amazing! What an incredible colour.

  4. the Jilb says:

    This looks like a great idea! Something new to try for Easter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

