It’s Just a Kitchen Remodel

A shell of its former self

I’m at the tail-end of a kitchen remodel that has, so far, lasted five weeks. For more than half that time, the kitchen has been unusable.

No running water. No cupboards. No counter space. No oven or cooktop. No place to put our mail or school papers when we come home!

Forget preparing food; we can’t even eat carryout (at least not easily) because every inch of our dining table is covered with dishes relocated from the old cupboards. We moved the kitchen table to the basement and put it to similar use.

Our old microwave, balanced precariously on a former base cabinet, huddles with a card table in the family room. There’s room for one chair, so it works in a pinch for individual diners hoping to slurp down a bowl of microwaved soup on the run.

However, meaningful meals and conversation are impossible. I miss cooking and sitting down to a leisurely dinner with my family.

It makes a difference. I’m not as in touch with my children’s day-to-day activities as I used to be. Meal time is our chance to connect and I’m having a hard time replacing it with anything as effective.

The remodel also disrupts simple chores. Something as mundane as packing lunches for school becomes complicated. As a result, I feel scattered and unorganized much of the time.

But my inconvenience is temporary and minor. And while preparing food has been challenging, I’ve had ample opportunity to eat. Furthermore, I’ve been inconvenienced so I can ultimately enjoy a brand-new, beautiful kitchen.

What about people who live this way every day, with no end in sight?  Homeless people, or victims of natural disasters and tragedies?

Being unable to  prepare a meal isn’t just inconvenient – the effects are far reaching and damaging. If a person can’t cover this basic need, how does he or she manage to tackle anything else, let alone connect and bond with family?

Each time I cook in my soon-to-be-finished kitchen and sit down to the warmth of a family meal, I need to remember those who struggle daily to prepare food and find a quiet spot to eat – with anyone.

Comments
11 Responses to “It’s Just a Kitchen Remodel”
  1. the Jilb says:

    Wow. Having no kitchen would be tough– and you’re right, people that don’t have a kitchen at all, I’m not sure how they do it. Very sad.

    On a positive note, I can’t wait to see pictures of your kitchen when it’s finished. I bet it’ll look beautiful!

    • KarenCooking says:

      It really did make me stop and think about what it would be like to be without a kitchen all the time. Life would be much harder.

      (But yes, I am very excited to have a new kitchen!)

  2. The kitchen is said to be the most important room in a house. So true. Your post emphasized why.

  3. Malou says:

    I’m so curious to see the new kitchen completed, Karen. I’m sure that with a new kitchen, you’ll be even more inspired to create new wonderful dishes. ;-)

  4. Hope everything goes smoothly and can’t wait to see what your first dish out of the new kitchen will be.

  5. Karen says:

    I know that you will so enjoy your first meal from your new kitchen. We lived through hurricane Andrew…I had a kitchen but no power and without power no water. Meals as well as life changed drastically.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] It’s Just a Kitchen Remodel (karencooking.wordpress.com) [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

