Sausage and Tortellini Soup with Spinach

Really tasty, really easy

I spent about 45 minutes perusing cookbooks at my local Barnes & Noble on a recent afternoon, searching for one that “spoke” to me.  I wasn’t exactly sure what I was looking for — I’d know it when I found it.

I flipped through the pages of every type of cookery book imaginable, but nothing clicked.  Eventually, I picked up The Best Simple Recipes by America’s Test Kitchen.

There was not a recipe in this book that didn’t appeal to me.  I wanted to make everything.  So of course I bought it, and have made eight or 10 of the dishes so far.

The cover of the book promises more than 200 flavorful, foolproof recipes that cook in 30 minutes or less.

This isn’t exaggeration.

Every  single dish has been flavorful and foolproof.  (I can’t always get finished in 30 minutes or less, but it’s close.)

Sausage and Tortellini Soup with Spinach is quick and delicious, and tastes even better as leftovers.

Sausage and Tortellini Soup with Spinach
Adapted from The Best Simple Recipes
(Serves 4-6)

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound sweet or mild Italian sausage
1 onion, chopped fine
2 garlic cloves, minced (I always use a garlic press)
6 cups low-sodium chicken broth (48-oz. cartons are readily available)
1 bay leaf
1 (9-oz.) package refrigerated fresh cheese tortellini
3 ounces baby spinach
Salt and pepper

Heat oil in Dutch oven over medium-high heat until just smoking. Cook sausages, turning occasionally, until browned all over (about 10 minutes). {I found a splatter screen really comes in handy for this.}

Transfer to paper towel-lined plate; reserve 1 tablespoon fat in Dutch oven.

Cook onion in reserved fat over medium heat until softened (about 5 minutes). Add garlic and cook about 30 more seconds. Stir in broth and bay leaf and bring to a boil.

Cut cooked sausage into 1/2-inch rounds and add to Dutch oven. Stir in tortellini and simmer over medium heat until pasta is tender (6-8 minutes). Stir in spinach and cook until just wilted (about 1 minute).

Discard bay leaf and season with salt and pepper to serve.

Comments
9 Responses to “Sausage and Tortellini Soup with Spinach”
  1. Mustang.Koji says:

    Personally, I think ATK and Cook’s Illustrated are very good for us everyday “non-cooks”. Everything works.

  2. Jill says:

    Yum! I love tortellini soup,and your version sounds delicious!

  3. KarenCooking says:

    It really is pretty tasty. I love the ideas in this cookbook!

  4. Karen says:

    This sounds like a simple but flavorful soup. I think you chose a good cookbook.

  5. Nancy McCann says:

    I LOVE THIS COOKBOOK AND THIS RECIPE!!

Leave a Reply

